The Power of Your Imagination


Imagination. One word that seems so clear, yet is one of the most complicated things to understand. One of the most important things to practice is the use of your mind and your imagination. But, how powerful is imagination exactly?

“I paint objects as I think them, not as I see them.”
Pablo Picasso

“I believe in the imagination. What I cannot see is infinitely more important than what I can see.”
Duane Michals

Definition 

What exactly happens in our minds when we start to think deeply about something? First let’s define imagination.  Dictionary.com states, “imagination is the faculty of imagining, or of forming mental images or concepts of what is not actually present to the senses.” If you think about it, you’re creating something that was never there, with the power of your mind. Think even deeper and you’ll realize that some of the greatest formulas, sculptures, and architecture was created in a mind by using imagination!

Something You Practice Without Even Knowing

I’ve always been a dreamer, and no matter what people said to me about being more “realistic”, I continued to dream.  Thoughts overwhelm my head everyday, and college work gets more and more difficult to focus on.  As each day passes, my imagination gets stronger and more powerful.  I realized about 2 years ago that I should stop trying to suppress my thoughts and instead use them to my advantage.  I began setting up a time each day to brainstorm and think of new creative ideas (and of course write them down!).  After a couple of months my ability to imagine things in vivid detail grew exponentially.

Imagination in Use

One day while driving home from work, I decided to listen to a Hans Zimmer song that was in the movie The Dark Knight (Batman).  As the song blared through my speakers, I looked up into the night sky and imagined I was Batman.  It sounds very corny, trust me I know, but I realized something pretty crazy that day.  I had more excitement imagining I was in the movie than I did actually going to the theater and watching it (well, more like they were equal in how enjoyable they were).  My life has been different ever since that night.  It’s sort of like reading and when you read each sentence you begin to paint a picture in your mind of what you’re reading.  This is natural for all of us, but when you consistently workout the imagination you begin to upgrade your paint and brushes, which in turn, allows you to paint a more wonderful picture.

How Imagination Really Works

Things start off in our minds, and then with some hard work, they become tangible things.  With technology becoming more advanced by the minute the gap between imagining something and turning it into a reality is getting smaller.  Our imagination is much more powerful than many people think, and for some people it’s only getting stronger.   We have a thought and we build it, simple as that.  There was no thought of that thing before.  Your imagination has this idea and you design it.  This thought came to you, and you made it a reality. Therefore, without the imagination there this no creation and no product.  Our minds have created the world as we know it.  It has created airplanes, smart phones, and the internet. These things have brought us closer together.   Please just let this thought sink in……..

When You’re Told to Think “Realistically”

I think it’s amazing that the imagination will never stop creating new things.  We’ve all tried to sit down and invent something, and probably found it very difficult.  Luckily, if you try hard enough you’ll come up with new ideas and new solutions to current problems.  You must refuse to fall into the trap of thinking “realistically” about everything.  Thinking this way has led many before us to a life of mediocrity and that’s the path you will eventually end up following.  Don’t be afraid to dream, don’t be afraid to fail, and always remember to trust yourself.  You can create anything you think of, and you can imagine something beautiful and make it a reality.  Remember, work hard on your dreams, and refuse to listen to the naysayers.

But Imagination Get’s in the Way of Real Life

I believe we need to learn how to harness this tool of imagination. It begins with realizing the power of your own imagination and then using that power to create a world that gives you everything you’ve ever wanted.  I know it’s hard to dream in the type of world we live in today. The type of world where we’re constantly bombarded with new and sometimes useless information, but it is important to make time for yourself to just think.  No one is smarter than you! and even if they were, how is that benefiting you?  Go out and learn the things you’ve always wanted to learn and don’t be afraid of leaving places and the people who get in the way of what you want to do.  I know I’ve swamped you with random quotes and statements from other people, but there is one that I find very unique.  J.K Rowling, we all know is the author of Harry Potter, but I bet many of you didn’t know that she was fired from her secretary job for day dreaming about writing that book! Getting fired from that job was probably the most important thing to happen in her life. Things happen for a reason, and it’s all about connecting the reasons and figuring out the puzzle.

As the great Neil Degrasse Tyson said, “we are part of this universe, we are in this universe, but perhaps more important than both of those facts is that the universe is in us.  When I reflect on that fact, I look up, many people feel small because we are small and the universe is big, but I feel big because my atoms came from those stars.”

”We are the Young Life Perception” 

Be sure to check out our podcast at www.younglifeperception.com

and you can also find us on iTunes and Stitcher Radio

Share your Insight!

